honours annually five living architects who move towards sustainability

Winners 2013 are
José Paulo dos Santos (Porto, Portugal)
Kevin Low (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Al Borde / David Barragán, Marialuisa Borja, Esteban Benavides, Pascual Gangotena (Quito, Ecuador)
Lake Flato Architects / David Lake, Ted Flato (San Antonio, Texas, USA)
MDW Architecture / Marie Moignot, Xavier de Wil (Brussels, Belgium)
Previous winners of the prize
2012 Salma Samar Damluji (UK and Yemen), Anne Feenstra (Afghanistan and India), Suriya Umpansiriratana (Thailand), Philippe Madec (France), TYIN Architects / Yashar Handstad & Andreas G. Gjersten (Norway)
2011 Shlomo Aronson (Israel), Vatnavinir (Island), Anna Heringer (Germany), Teddy Cruz (USA), Qèswachaka / Huinchiri (Peru)
2010 Snøhetta (Norway, USA), Troppo Architects (Australia), Junya Ishigami (Japan), Giancarlo Mazzanti (Colombia), Steve Baer (USA)
2009 Thomas Herzog (Germany), Sami Rintala (Norway), Diébédo Francis Kéré (Burkina Faso, Germany), Bijoy Jain, Studio Mumbaï (India), Patrick Bouchain ja Loïc Julienne (France)
2008 Fabrizio Caròla (Italy), Alejandro Aravena, Elemental (Chile), Andrew Freear, Rural Studio (USA), Philippe Samyn (Belgium), Carin Smuts (South Africa)
2007 Stefan Behnisch (Germany), Balkrishna Doshi (India), Françoise-Hélène Jourda (France), Hermann Kaufmann (Austria), Wang Shu (China)

Global Award for Sustainable Architecture
The purpose of the the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture is to honour annually a living architect who moves towards sustainability.

His work offers clear insights into the search for a rational contemporary architecture which is:
- fully in step with the ethical, civil and social concerns of today
- innovative in the areas of ecology, energy, materials and technology
- progressive in its search for new standards for both housing and public facilities

The Museum of Finnish Architecture is a member of the Scientific Board, which annually chooses the nominees for the award. Other members are the Cité de l'architecture et du patrimoine (Paris), CIVA (Centre International pour la Ville, l’Architecture et le Paysage), the UIAV (Instituto Universitario di Architetture Venezia) and the International Architecture Biennale Ljublijana.

For more information please contact
Director of Development Kristiina Nivari
tel. +358 45 7731 0471, forename.surname(a)